Art of Energy Exhibition 2021

The Energy Ethics team and University of St Andrews welcome you to the Art of Energy virtual exhibition. The vibrant and diverse artworks you are about to experience gravitate around, challenge and question the central theme of ‘how can we make sense of the entanglement of life with energy?’  

The gallery is best explored on a laptop or desktop computer. Use your arrow keys to move around the 3D gallery space and your cursor to look around.  To zoom into an image, text, sound source, or video use your shift key.  To exit the gallery, use your esc key It may take a moment to load. Web browsers and digital devices may function differently in the virtual gallery space.

Click below to start exploring. Please be advised, visitors may find some images disturbing.

On the first floor, you will find exhibits by three world-renowned photographers, each bringing their own distinctive perspective to the theme of energy in contemporary life. On the second floor, you will find creative works from a range of artists participating in the inaugural Art of Energy Award. A soundscape created by musicians pecq will accompany your journey throughout the gallery space.  

We invite you to explore this virtual gallery at your own pace. Enjoy!  


We were honoured to receive an incredible 135 submissions for the Art of Energy Award! The quality and breadth of these submissions were truly overwhelming. From these, 30 were shortlisted for the virtual gallery. The Selection Committee considered, deliberated and selected the finalists.

Many thanks to everyone who gave us the opportunity to consider their creative works.



Diana Sykes  – Director, Fife Contemporary

Gair Dunlop – Senior Lecturer, Contemporary Art Practice, Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design, University of Dundee



Adam Sébire

Rebecca Sharp

Natasha Awuku*

Rishabh Raghavan*

* The third prize was jointly awarded.


Alec Finlay

Amy McTurk

Craig Buchan

Daniella Levins & Noah Gillespie

George Fox



Alicia Cohen

Andreas Bock Michelsen

Anne Sofie Møller Askholm

Clare Yarrington

Daniel Silas

Edoardo Santangelo

Jasper McKinney

Jonah Garrett-Bannister

Katerina Evangelou



Hannah Imlach & Thomas Butler

Jason Moyes

Maica Gugolati

Rickard Fornstedt, Helena Fornstedt & Staffan Laestadius




Kris Murphy

Mary and Michal

Ojo Taiye


Shane Hynan

Ted Leeming

Yulia Dotsenko

Zi Quan

You can also listen to an interview with our winner, Adam Sébire as part of our podcast series.